Painting process: Another portrait

I think I am making headway with this latest portrait.  I’m quite pleased with the overall look, the colours and her expression.  It’s become one of my favourites!

Here is my loose sketch with thinned oil colour.
I finished the sketch and did an underpainting. I worked on the skin from dark to light. Starting with the shadows, working my way to the middle tones and then the highlights. The painting actually looks good at this point, but I haven’t added the details.
Here is the finished piece. The dress has been brightened, the background is more vibrant and the hair has more shape and depth.
It has a very different mood to the previous portrait. I like it!
A close-up
Leave a Reply

