New project: Naive style portrait

Some of you know that off and on I try different things.  It is good to step away from my still life work, take a break and explore.  One of my personal projects I have going on at the moment is exploring naive style figurative work.  I used to paint mostly figurative work in my early years in school and it was a lot of my curriculum in graduate school.  I am still not quite sure where I’m going with this project, but I will keep posting my experiments.

This painting is done on canvas board and is 16 x 16 inches. I will move to my usual cradled panel once I have a clear vision for my figurative work.
Painting the hair was a lot of fun.  The freshness of the skin and colour palette are a step in the right direction.  I will try this one again at some point and see what happens.
A close up
Leave a Reply

