Something new: Naive style portraits

I have been working on a project involving portraits with a narrative.  The naive style of the portraits gives a nod to illustration and helps the viewer see the painting as a whole and not  a traditional portrait.  I have been painting a few on and off and I think these three are the best.  I am still figuring out where I'm going with these, but I think I'm headed in a good direction. Above: "Red locks and hollyhocks" oil on cradled panel, 16 x 16 inches.
I have been working on a project involving portraits with a narrative. The naive style of the portraits gives a nod to illustration and helps the viewer see the painting as a whole and not a traditional portrait. I have been painting a few on and off and I think these three are the best. I am still figuring out where I’m going with these, but I think I’m headed in a good direction. Above: “Red locks and hollyhocks” oil on cradled panel, 16 x 16 inches.
"Meet me by the tree" oil on cradled panel, 16 x 16 inches
“Meet me by the tree” oil on cradled panel, 16 x 16 inches
"The couple" oil on cradled panel, 30 x 30 inches
“The couple” oil on cradled panel, 30 x 30 inches
One thought on “Something new: Naive style portraits

Leave a Reply

