Painting process: Pink house, yellow field, 30 x 30 cm

I have been working on a series of Suffolk landscapes.  Above is the sketch.  This painting is 30 x 30cm and will be available framed when dry.
I have been working on a series of Suffolk landscapes.  Above is the sketch of the third in the series. 
The underpainting.
The underpainting.
The trees and house in the distance have been painted in with a small palette knife.  I dug and dragged through the paint to create tree trunks and branches.  The house is created with  a few quick marks.
The trees and house in the distance have been painted in with a small palette knife. I dug and dragged through the paint to create tree trunks and branches. The house is created with a few quick marks.
I am working on the yellow field now. I am keeping my marks loose and gestural.
I am working on the yellow field now. I am keeping my marks loose and gestural.
Here is the finished painting.  it took about an 1.5 hours to complete.  I think the small abstracts I recently did helped me to loosen up.  I've been wanting to include a "Suffolk pink" house in one of my landscapes.
Here is the finished painting. it took about an 1.5 hours to complete. I think the small abstracts I recently did helped me to loosen up. I’ve been wanting to include a “Suffolk pink” house in one of my landscapes.  This painting will be available framed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

