Painting process: Autumn still life, 24 x 24 inches

Autumn has always been  my favourite season.  To express my love I paint a few Autumnal still lifes as soon as I can find heirloom variety gourds, squash and pumpkins.  Above is my sketch and you can see my set-up as well.
Autumn has always been my favourite season. To express my love I paint a few Autumnal still lifes as soon as I can find heirloom variety gourds, squash and pumpkins. Above is my sketch and you can see my set-up as well.
I have blocked in the colour.  I am already getting excited about how this will turn out.
I have blocked in the colour. I am already getting excited about how this will turn out.
The lily and eucalyptus bouquet is finished.  I love the movement in the leaves.
The lily and eucalyptus bouquet is finished. I love the movement in the leaves.
Bouquet close-up.  i have also painted in the vase as if it were just a plain white vase.  I will do the pattern next.
Bouquet close-up. I have also painted in the vase as if it were just a plain white vase. I will do the pattern next.
After scratching in the pattern with a small palette knife, I paint in the pattern with a brush and smooth it over in places with a palette knife.  The cloth has also been painted in with a palette knife.
After scratching in the pattern with a small palette knife, I paint in the pattern with a brush and smooth it over in places with a palette knife. The cloth has also been painted in with a palette knife.
With a thin brush I start applying the pattern one colour at a time.
With a thin brush I start applying the pattern one colour at a time.
The cloth is finished.  I am very pleased with it.
The cloth is finished. I am very pleased with it.
Cloth pattern close-up.
Cloth pattern close-up.
Here is the finished painting.  I love it!  A 24 x 24 inch painting usually take only a day to complete but, this one took a day and a half to complete.  I am glad I took my time on the details.  What a result!  I am off now to set-up the next still life.
Here is the finished painting. I love it! A 24 x 24 inch painting usually takes a day to complete but, this one took a day and a half. I am glad I took my time on the details. What a result! I am off now to set-up the next still life.
Leave a Reply

