Painting process: Spilled figs on gold

I happen to really love painting figs.  I decided to test how much by  doing this painting.  Just like my 'Spilled Pomegranates' painting I used four figs to help cover this 30 x 30 inch board.  Above you can see I have sketched in all the figs and painted the background and shadows with a thin wash of paint.
I happen to really love painting figs. I decided to test how much by doing this painting. I used only four figs as a reference to help cover this 30 x 30 inch board. Above: I have sketched in all the figs and painted the background and shadows with a thin wash of paint.
With a brush I gave the figs a thin wash of colour.
Underpainting of the figs.
Before I start applying thicker paint, I mix all the colours I may need for the figs.  This way I won't break my flow as I begin painting all these figs!
Before I start applying thicker paint, I mix all the colours I may need for the figs. This way I won’t break my flow as I begin painting all these figs!
Figs detail.
Figs detail.
I pain tinted as many figs I could before getting tired or lazy and sloppy.  This part took three days.  I made sure to vary my mixes and colours of the figs to keep things from getting monotonous.
I painted as many figs as I could before getting tired, lazy and sloppy. This part took three days. I made sure to vary my mixes and colours of the figs.  Some are darker, some more cool in colour, others are more red, etc.
Finished figs detail.  The gold background has been added as well.
Finished figs detail. The gold background has been added as well.
Here is the finished painting.  It took six days in total to finish.  Well worth all the work I think and I am surprisingly not tired of painting figs!  My next panting will be a few figs on a decorative plate.  I think I will give figs a rest after that...maybe.
Here is the finished painting. It took six days in total to finish. Well worth all the work and I am surprisingly not tired of painting figs! My next panting will be a few figs on a decorative plate. I think I will give figs a rest after that…maybe.
Leave a Reply

