Small painting: Deep reds, brilliant blues and gold, 12 x 12 inches

This is the second of four small paintings going to the VK Gallery in November. I am using a gold background again with bolder colours. Above is my sketch. I sketched in a dark colour in order to create depth within the bouquet.
This is the second of four small paintings going to the VK Gallery in November. I am using a gold background again with bolder colours.  Above is my sketch.  I sketched in a dark colour in order to create depth within the bouquet.
The colours have been blocked in. The gold will go over and this aqua colour will show through a bit.
The colours have been blocked in.
The gold has been painted in with a small palette knife. It looks really nice against the reds.
The gold has been painted in with a small palette knife. It looks really nice against the reds.
Using a combination of a small palette knife and a brush, I have completed the bouquet. I think I used every red in my arsenal for this.
Using a combination of a small palette knife and a brush, I have completed the bouquet. I think I used every red in my arsenal for this.
Bouquet close-up.
Bouquet close-up.
Here is the finished painting! It is shimmering with gold and jewel tones. I forgot to to mention that I am using various photo references for these paintings.
Here is the finished painting! It is shimmering with gold and jewel tones. I forgot to to mention that I am using various photo references for these paintings.
Side by side.
Side by side.
Leave a Reply

