Small study: Anemone Bouquet, 8 x 8 inches

I ordered a different brand of oil colour than usual last week. I usually use Winsor & Newton or Daler Downey Georgian paints because of the affordability. I decided to try the Schmincke range. I did a little floral still life to test out the paints. Above is how i began my painting.
Last week, I ordered a different brand of oil colour than usual. I usually use Winsor & Newton or Daler Rowney Georgian paints because of the affordability.  I decided to try the Schmincke range and did a little floral still life to test out the paints. Above is how I began my painting.
I am working on the background, making sure to incorporate it in the clear vase.
I am working on the background, making sure to incorporate it in the clear vase.
Background done.
Background done.
Working on the foreground. Remembering to bring those shadow colours into the vase.
Working on the foreground. Remembering to bring those shadow colours into the vase.
The next step is to work on the stems and leaves.
The next step is to work on the stems and leaves.
With highlights added to the vase, it is complete. I complete the flowers and this little study is now finished. I have to admit, I am loving the Schmincke oil colours. The reds are fantastic. I will do another small study before attempting a larger painting with these new paints.
With highlights added to the vase, it is complete. I work on the flowers and this little study is now finished.  It will be available soon in the small works online shop.  I have to admit, I am loving the Schmincke oil colours. The reds are fantastic. I will do another small study before attempting a larger painting with the new paints.
Leave a Reply

