Painting process: Another landscape study

I decided to do one more small landscape.  The paint was already out and I thought, "Why not?".  Above is my sketch.
I decided to do one more small landscape. The paint was already out and I thought, “Why not?”. Above is my sketch.
I am starting on the underpainting.
I am starting on the underpainting.
The underpainting is complete.
The underpainting is complete.
I work from the top to the bottom when painting landscapes.  the colours are paler in the distance and more vivid as I get towards the bottom.
I work from the top to the bottom when painting landscapes. the colours are paler in the distance and more vivid as I get towards the bottom.
Now I am working on the middle of the painting.  I keep in mind my sketch as I apply thicker paint, I want to add movement in the grass and flowers.
Now I am working on the middle of the painting. I keep in mind my sketch as I apply thicker paint, I want to add movement in the grass and flowers.
close-up
close-up
With the base of the field finished, I can now play with various green and wheat colours and add poppies.
With the base of the field finished, I can now play with various green and wheat colours and add poppies.
Here is the finished painting.  I think it's lovely.  The texture and movement is inviting. I am very happy with this one.
Here is the finished painting. I think it’s lovely. The texture and movement is inviting. I am very happy with this one.
another close-up
another close-up
A different view.
A different view.
All the landscape studies drying together.
All the landscape studies drying together.
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

