Painting process: Landscape studies, 8 x 8 inches

On this gloomy rainy day, I decided to paint two small cheery landscapes.   Above is how I began the first painting.
On this gloomy rainy day, I decided to paint two small cheery landscapes. Above is how I began the first painting.
Starting the underpainting.
Starting the underpainting.
Underpainting is complete.
Underpainting is complete.
Beginning with the sky and distant trees, I add more texture to the painting with a small palette knife.
Beginning with the distant trees, I add more texture to the painting with a small palette knife.
Woking my way towards the bottom.
Working my way towards the bottom.
Here is the finished piece.  With past paintings in mind this didn't take long at all.
Here is the finished piece. With past paintings in mind, this didn’t take long at all.
First landscape close-up
First landscape close-up
Here is the second one I did.
Here is the second landscape that I did.
Second landscape study close-up
Second landscape study close-up
Side by side.
Side by side. ┬áThese will be available for purchase in the “Available Small Works” section of this blog.
Leave a Reply

