Painting process: Working on a textured ground

I am experimenting with painting on textured grounds.  I used a palette knife to apply my last layer of gesso to achieve an interesting texture.  I will be painting an expressive still life on this 24 x 24 inch board.  There will not be a set up, I will do this mostly from memory.
I am experimenting with painting on textured grounds. I used a palette knife to apply my last layer of gesso to achieve an interesting texture. I will be painting an expressive still life on this 24 x 24 inch board. There will not be a set up, I will do this mostly from memory.
close -up of textured ground on board
close -up of textured ground on board
I have given the whole board a wash of magenta.  This will give some warmth underneath my cool colours and peek through in various spots.
I have given the whole board a wash of magenta and the subject is sketched in. The wash will give some warmth underneath my cool colours and peek through in various spots.
I let the wash and sketch dry for a day and a half.  This way that strong magenta won't taint my mixes too much.  I have added a thin layer of paint to the background using a very dry brush.
I let the wash and sketch dry for a day and a half. This way that strong magenta won’t taint my mixes too much. I have added a thin layer of paint to the background using a very dry brush.
I have finished the first layer of paint.  I added a bit of liquin to the mixes so that it will dry to the touch in a day.  I don't want the layer to be completely dry because I will be adding thicker layers tomorrow.
I have finished the first layer of paint. I added a bit of liquin to the mixes so that it will almost dry to the touch in a day. I don’t want the paint to be completely dry because I will be adding thicker layers tomorrow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

detail of the first layer of paint
detail of the first layer of paint
more detail of the first layer
more detail of the first layer
The next day I lightened up the foreground and loosely rendered the fruit.
The next day I lightened up the foreground and loosely rendered the fruit with a palette knife.
Fruit detail
Fruit detail
Close-up of the finished pear
Close-up of the finished pear
Next step is finishing the flowers, adding colours with a palette knife.
The next step is finishing the flowers, adding more colours with a palette knife.
I have finished the delphiniums and sweet wiliams but I will show that later.  Above you can see that I have painted the vase as if it was plain.
I have finished the delphiniums and sweet williams but I will show that later. I have started painting the striped vase.  Above you can see that I have painted the vase as if it was plain.
With the tip of a small palette knife I scraped a groove in the paint where my stripes will go.
With the tip of a small palette knife I scraped a groove in the paint where my stripes will go.
Here is the fished painting. I don’t think I got as expressive as I would have liked. I also am wondering if I really needed the magenta wash underneath. Well, I did enjoy painting over the texture gesso and experimenting with a looser style. I definitely need to keep doing more of these so I can find my groove. I have definitely learned some things that I can use in my regular style of painting.
Finished delphinium detail.
Finished delphinium detail.
Sweet williams detail.
Sweet williams detail.
Leave a Reply

