Small works: Pomegranate Half, 8 x 8 inches

My subject.  A very simple study.
My subject. A very simple study.
I am starting with the background first.  I am using a brush for this and I won't bother with a thin underpainting.
I am starting with the background first. I am using a brush for this and I won’t bother with a thin underpainting.
Now it is time to start the pomegranate.  I will keep my strokes loose and add more detail at the end.
Now it is time to start the pomegranate. I will keep my strokes loose and add more detail at the end.
At this stage it is time to add more darks, emphasise shape and add texture.
At this stage it is time to add more darks, emphasise shape and add texture.

DSC_0010

Here is the completed study. It took me 2.5 hours from set up to finishing.
Here is the completed study. It took me 2 hours from set up to finish.
study close-up
study close-up
Another view of the small study.
Another view of the small study.  
Leave a Reply

