Painting process: Lilies, peaches and a patterned cloth, 24 x 24 inches

I recently received a batch of new cradled panels from my Father-in-law.  I was very excited because I have had some ideas swimming around in my mind waiting to be immortalised in paint.   I bought some wonderful lilies from Aldi last week and I wanted to put a pattern on a periwinkle coloured cloth I have. Yesterday evening I got everything set-up and began working.
I recently received a batch of new cradled panels from my Father-in-law. I was very excited because I have had some ideas swimming around in my mind waiting to be immortalised in paint.
I bought some wonderful lilies from Aldi last week and I wanted to put a pattern on a periwinkle coloured cloth I have. Yesterday evening I got everything set-up and began working.
Above is my sketch and my set-up.  the colour I mixed for the sketch was a bit dark but I went with it anyway.  I just had to let it dry a little before blocking in the colour so that it wouldn't taint my mixes.
Above is my sketch and my set-up. the colour I mixed for the sketch was a bit dark but I went with it anyway. I just had to let it dry a little before blocking in the colour so that it wouldn’t taint my mixes.
The underpainting is finished.
The underpainting is finished.
I have added in the layout for the pattern on the background.
I have added in the layout for the pattern on the background.
Using a brush I complete the patterned background.
Using a brush I complete the patterned background.
Pattern close-up.
Pattern close-up.
I have started working on the lilies.
I have started working on the lilies.
Close-up of unfinished lilies.
Close-up of unfinished lilies.
Closed lily detail.
Closed lily detail.
More progress on the lilies.
More progress on the lilies.
Open lilies detail.
Open lilies detail.
With the background, lilies and vase completed I can work on the foreground.
With the background, lilies and vase completed I can work on the foreground.
Almost done!  The white cloth and shadows are looking great and I have started working on the peaches (my favourite part).
Almost done! The white cloth and shadows are looking great and I have started working on the peaches (my favourite part).
Close-up of the white cloth and unfinished peaches.
Close-up of the white cloth and unfinished peaches.
Unfinished peach detail.
Unfinished peach detail.
I painted way into the wee small hours and now the painting is finished.   I am off to bed, hope you enjoyed this post.
I painted way into the wee small hours and now the painting is finished. I am off to bed, hope you enjoyed this post.
Finished peach detail.
Finished peach detail.
7 thoughts on “Painting process: Lilies, peaches and a patterned cloth, 24 x 24 inches

  1. I love the sequence shots. Very helpful to see the genesis of your work. ( I’m being selfish….it helps me learn how to overcome painting hurtles. 🎨😊 )

    1. Hello Carol! I use a brush for the underpainting and for the backgrounds in my still life work if they are patterned. The rest is all palette knife with a brush used at the very end for small details (like apple stems).

      -H

  2. Another lovely painting Halima! Could just eat one of those peaches! Am palette knife painting with friends today – what a treat!

Leave a Reply

