Painting process: Moody Sky, 12 x 12 inches

I am currently working on small landscapes for my solo exhibition in October.  I love to paint bright bright sunny days, maybe because I'm from California.  I also appreciate the days where a storm is coming or has just passed, the sky looks amazing and the ground below becomes so bright against the darkened sky.  So, here is the painting process for the moody sky landscape I painted yesterday from a photo reference.  Above is my simple sketch.
I am currently working on small landscapes for my solo exhibition in October. I love to paint bright bright sunny days (maybe because I’m from California). I also appreciate the days when a storm is coming or has just passed, the sky looks amazing and the ground below becomes so bright against the darkened sky. So, here is the painting process for the moody sky landscape I painted yesterday from a photo reference. Above is my simple sketch.
Blocking in the colour.
Blocking in the colour.
underpainting close-up
underpainting close-up
Starting the sky underpainting.
Painting in the sky.
Underpainting is finished.
Underpainting is finished.
Now I'm using the palette knife.  I would usually start by painting the darks first, but the dark clouds are in front of the blue sky.
Now I’m using the palette knife. I would usually start by painting the darks first, but the dark clouds are in front of the blue sky.
sky detail
sky detail
Working my way towards the darker clouds.
Working my way towards the darker clouds.
clouds detail
detail of clouds
At this point the sky is almost done.  I need to add the really dark bits and the lightest bits.
At this point the sky is almost done. I need to add the really dark bits and the lightest bits.
dark clouds detail
dark clouds close-up
The sky is now complete.
The sky is now complete.
Starting on the land below.
Starting on the land below.
land detail
land detail
Here is the finished painting.  There is lots of movement in the sky and I like the blue bits of the sky peaking out through the dark clouds.  Well, I'm off to paint another cloudscape.
Here is the finished painting. There is lots of movement in the sky and I like how the blue bits are peaking out through the dark clouds. Well, I’m off to paint another cloudscape.
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

