Painting process: Lilies with Peony Tulips, 30 x 30 inches

While at the Lavenham Farmer's market this past weekend I found some wonderful tulip peonies.  I also found a very nice slice of lime and courgette cake but that is beside the point. Above is my sketch and as you can see I am using my favourite spotted jug along with stripes.
While at the Lavenham Farmer’s market this past weekend, I found some wonderful tulip peonies. I also found a very nice slice of lime courgette cake but that’s beside the point. Above is my sketch and as you can see I am using my favourite spotted jug along with stripes.
I have loosely blocked in the colours.  I chose these  tulips because they where a funny mauve peachy pinky colour and paired with lovely pinky yellow ones.
I have loosely blocked in the colours. I chose these tulips because they were a funny mauve peachy pinky colour and paired with lovely pinky yellow ones.
I painted in the background with a brush and have started on the flowers.
I painted in the background with a brush and have started on the lilies.
Detail of an unfinished lily.
Detail of an unfinished lily.
The lilies are complete and now it is time to work on the vase.
The lilies are complete and now it is time to work on the vase.
Completed vase detail.
Completed vase detail.
Working on the darker peony tulips.
Working on the darker peony tulips.
Peony tulip detail.
Peony tulip detail.
They yellow tulips are coming along nicely.
The yellow tulips are coming along nicely.
Yellow tulip detail.
Yellow tulip detail.
My favourite spotted jug is now finished.
My favourite spotted jug is now finished.
This is how the painting looks at this stage.  Next steps are to finish the stripes and lastly, the figs.
This is how the painting looks at this stage. 
Finished stripes.
Finished stripes.
Finished fig and stripe detail.
Finished fig and stripe detail.
Fig close-up.
Fig close-up.
Yay, I'm done!  It is quite a different colour palette for me but I think this painting has great harmony.  I am very pleased with this one!
Yay, I’m done! It is quite a different colour palette for me but I think this painting has great harmony. I am very pleased with this one!
Leave a Reply

