Painting process: Delphinium Border, 16 x 28 inches

I just had to do another garden scene!  This time I am painting a delphinium border against a brick wall.In the photo the blues and purples looked lovely against the orange of the brick.  Above is my sketch.  It may look like a mess but the different lines and strokes are creating a map for me.
I just had to do another garden scene! This time I am painting a delphinium border against a brick wall.  In the photo, the blues and purples looked lovely against the orange of the brick. Above is my sketch. It may look like a mess but the different lines and strokes are creating a map for me.
I have scrubbed in some colour for the background and the greenery.
I have scrubbed in some colour for the background and the greenery.
My underpainting is complete.  Look at the lovely indigo, purple and magenta colours!
My underpainting is complete. Look at the lovely indigo, purple and magenta colours!
underpainting close-up
underpainting close-up
With a small brush I put in the darker tones.  this adds depth and separates the plants.
With a small brush I put in the darker tones. This adds depth and separates the plants.
The background has been painted in.  Since I could still see my brick pattern through the underpainting I used it as a guide and painted it in with a brush.  You can also see that I have added other little flowers and grasses near the wall.
The background has been painted in. I could still see my brick pattern through the underpainting so I used it as a guide and painted it in with a brush. You can also see that I have added other little flowers and grasses near the wall.
painting detail
painting detail
With the plants in the foreground more defined I can start bringing the delphiniums to life.
With the plants in the foreground more defined, I can start bringing the delphiniums to life.
My painting is finished!  I could have kept on fiddling with it but I feared I would overwork it and wouldn't be able to correct it.  Sometimes you just have to leave it alone and back away. I wish I could accurately capture how rich the colour is, especially in the darks where there is deep turquoise. I would have liked to use some palette knife somewhere in this.  Maybe on a larger one I will find a way to incorporate.  I just have to keep experimenting with these garden scenes.
My painting is finished! I could have kept on fiddling with it but I feared I would overwork it and wouldn’t be able to correct it. Sometimes you just have to leave it alone and back away. I wish this photo could accurately capture how rich the colours are, especially in the darks where there is deep turquoise. I would have liked to use some palette knife somewhere in this. Maybe with a larger one I can find a way to incorporate it.  I just have to keep experimenting with these garden scenes.
delphinium detail
delphinium detail
another painting detail
finished painting detail
Leave a Reply

