Painting process: Inside the walled garden, 16 x 28 inches

We've been enjoying wonderful sunny weather in our neck of the woods!  All this sunshine inspired me to paint a beautiful garden.  I have a whole bunch of reference photos from a trip to Helmingham Hall Gardens.  I chose an image that included the building because it has a wonderful pattern on it. Above is my sketch.
We’ve been enjoying wonderful sunny weather in our neck of the woods! All this sunshine inspired me to paint a beautiful garden. I have a whole bunch of reference photos from a trip to Helmingham Hall Gardens. I picked an image that included the Hall because it has a wonderful pattern on it. Above is my sketch.
Using a brush I added a wash of colour to the sky and hall.  Then I carefully mapped out the garden.
Using a brush I added a wash of colour to the sky and the Hall. Then I carefully mapped out the garden using various lovely colours.
Underpainting close-up
Underpainting close-up
The sky and Helminghan Hall have been painted in.  I haven't painted any buildings in a long while, I used to paint mostly cityscapes.
The sky and Helminghan Hall have been painted in.  
Helmingham Hall close-up
Helmingham Hall close-up
With a brush I add the darks to create some depth and help separate the various plants.
With a brush I add the darks to create some depth and help separate the various plants.
Starting at the back near the hall I begin adding texture with a small palette knife.  I also have painted in the grassy path.
Starting at the back near the Hall I begin adding texture with a small palette knife. I also have painted in the grassy path.
garden detail
garden detail
Here is more progress on the garden.  I am working my way to the foreground, getting more vibrant and detailed as I go.
More progress on the garden. I am working my way to the foreground, getting more vibrant and detailed as I go.
You can get a bit overwhelmed by so much detail when painting this subject.  I had to keep telling myself to relax, simplify and keep things loose.  The painting is now complete and I am quite pleased with it.  It is so different than anything I have done before.
You can get a bit overwhelmed by so much detail when painting this kind of subject. I had to keep telling myself to relax, simplify and keep things loose. The painting is now complete and I am quite pleased with it. It is so different than anything I have done before.
garden flowers detail
garden flowers detail
close-up of more garden flowers
close-up of more garden flowers
2 thoughts on “Painting process: Inside the walled garden, 16 x 28 inches

  1. Beautiful work. Thanks for the photos – I was amazed how you brought the border to life right at the end!

Leave a Reply

