Painting process: Daffodils and Lemons, 20 x 20 inches

There were bunches of daffodils available in the grocery store over Easter.  I thought I would grab a bunch and use them in a still life.  Here is my set-up for today.
There were bunches of daffodils available in the grocery store over Easter. I thought I would grab a bunch and use them in a still life. Here is my set-up for today.
Here is my sketch.
Here is my sketch.
I have blocked in the colour now.
I have blocked in the colour now.
I have drawn in the pattern for the background.
I have drawn in the pattern for the background.
Before I start painting in the pattern, I mix piles of the colours. This way I don't have to stop and mix paint as I go.
Before I start painting in the pattern, I mix piles of the colours. This way I don’t have to stop and mix paint as I go.
The colours are added to the pattern.
The colours are added to the pattern.
background detail
background detail
finished background
finished background
finished background detail
finished background detail
With the stems done, I begin painting the daffodils.
With the stems done, I begin painting the daffodils.
daffodil detail
daffodil detail
More progress on the daffodil bouquet.
More progress on the daffodil bouquet.
DSC_0016
close-up of more daffodils
The daffodils are done now and I have started on the jug.
The daffodils are done now and I have started on the jug.
Shown is the finished painting with the still life set-up.  I would have showed more of the painting process but I got in the zone and forgot to document the rest of the steps.  Sorry about that.  Well, I think this painting is very cheery and Spring-like and no stripes this time.  Overall, I think it has a lovely feel to it.
Above is the finished painting with the still life set-up. I would have shared more of the painting process, but I got stuck in the zone and forgot to document the rest of the steps. Sorry about that. Well, I think this painting is very cheery and Spring-like and no stripes this time. Overall, I think it has a lovely feel to it.
2 thoughts on “Painting process: Daffodils and Lemons, 20 x 20 inches

  1. I’ve been following your work for quite some time time and am always amazed at how quickly you can finish a painting with such success. Your still life paintings have a quality of freshness and joy that makes me happy just to look at them.

    Although I live in Canada, I have a son who lives in Evesham, Worcs. I’m not sure how far this is from you, but I’m very tempted to ask him to bring one of your paintings to me when he visits this summer.

    Unfortunately the dollar doesn’t stack up very well against the pound just now, but I would like to know what this particular painting would cost.

    I love to see your emails and to follow the progress of your paintings.

    Rena McLean

Leave a Reply

