Pomegranate Half: painting process, 20 x 20 inches

Here is my simple set-up.  Because I am tall I get an interesting perspective when looking at my still life set-ups.  That is why most of my painting have a kind of aerial view.  I  pulled the table close to me and I was looking down on my subject.  I propped it up a bit with blu tack.
Here is my simple set-up. Being tall gives me an interesting perspective when looking at my still life set-ups. That is why most of my paintings have a kind of aerial view. I pulled the table close to me and I was looking down on my subject. I propped it up a bit with blu tack.
After I sketched the shape and the pips, I did the underpainting with thin washes of colour.
After I sketched in the shape and the pips, I did the underpainting with thin washes of colour.
Now it is time for the palette knife.  I started with the pomegranate top using a small palette knife.
Now it is time for the palette knife. I started with the pomegranate top using a small palette knife.
Then it is time for the pips.  iI outline the pips in a very dark red.  I used a mix of Alizarin Crimson with a teeny amount of Phthalo Turquoise.
I outline the pips in a very dark red. I used a mix of Alizarin Crimson with a teeny amount of Phthalo Turquoise.
I fill in the pips with Alizarin Crimson (which is very transparent) with a hint of white  so it is every so slightly opaque.
I fill in the pips with Alizarin Crimson (which is very transparent) with a hint of white so it is slightly opaque. 
Pip detail
Pip detail
Using various mixtures of reds, orangey pinks and red orange, I render the pips to look juicy and jewel like.
Using various mixtures of reds, orangey pinks and red oranges, I render the pips to look juicy and jewel like.
finished pip detail
finished pip detail
Now it is time for the juice stained flesh.  I start from the bottom and work my way up to the yellow flesh.
Now it is time for the juice stained flesh. I start from the bottom and work my way up to the yellowish flesh.
painting detail
painting detail
Here is the finished product.  The colours are wonderful!  I am thinking about doing another one, but I am still thinking about what background colour to use.  I hope you enjoyed this demo.
Here is the finished product. The colours are wonderful! I am thinking about doing another one, but I am still thinking about what background colour to use. I hope you enjoyed this demo.
Leave a Reply

