Small landscape: Poppy afternoon-painting process, 14 x 14 inches

So, I painted another small landscape.  This one is full of lush greens and vibrant poppies.  Here is the underpainting.  I left blank spaces for the larger poppies to make them pop.
So, I painted another small landscape. This one is full of lush greens and vibrant poppies. Here is the underpainting. I left blank spaces for the larger poppies, the red paint directly on the white background will make them pop.
I always start with the sky when it comes time to add thick paint with a palette knife.
I always start with the sky when it comes time to add thick paint with a palette knife.
Here is the painting filled in with the first layer of thick paint.  I play around with other colours and move it in different direction in order to add depth and movement.
Here is the painting filled in with the first layer of thick paint. I play around with other colours and apply it in different directions in order to add depth and movement.
With more colour added.
With more colour added.
painting close up
painting close up
Because the foreground is in some shadow the majority of it has cooler greens.  I add a bit of a warmer lime green to hint at some sunlight and also to highlight the path of the poppies.  I don't want too much red on green, the direct contrast can be jarring to the eye.
Because the foreground is in some shadow, the majority of it has cooler greens. I add a warmer lime green to hint at some sunlight and also to highlight the path of the poppies. I don’t want too much red on green, the direct contrast can be jarring to the eye.
cooler green and blues
cooler greens and blues
warmer greens with turquoise and scratches in the paint to hint at blades of grass.
warmer greens with turquoise and scratches in the paint to hint at blades of grass.
Here is the finished painting.  I has quite a different feel from the previous landscape post.  It is mistier, cooler in colour and bold.
Here is the finished painting. It has quite a different feel from the previous landscape post. It is cooler in colour and bold.
poppy field close-up
poppy field close-up
another poppy field close-up
another poppy field close-up
3 thoughts on “Small landscape: Poppy afternoon-painting process, 14 x 14 inches

  1. Thank you once again for the detailed breakdown of how you do the magic you do. I am working on a landscape right now and your info is so timely. May, I ask, do you do the whole canvas in palate knife formate, or do you do part in brush?

    1. Hello Lynn! You are very welcome. I only use a brush to do the simple sketch and the underpainting. The rest is palette knife. I would use the aid of a large brush if the painting was very large, it would save my wrist and elbow from repetitive motion strain.

      -H

      1. Thank you my favorite art teacher/artist. I know you probably think that is pretty basic knowledge, but I really do not have any basic knowledge. I appreciate your sharing with us even those little insights. 😊🎨

Leave a Reply

