Small landscape: Spring meadow-painting process, 14 x 14 inches

I was in the mood to do a spring inspired landscape.  Using a personal photo reference,  I start with a very simple sketch.
I was in the mood to do a Spring inspired landscape. Using a personal photo reference, I start with a very simple sketch.
Then a wash of colour.
Then a wash of colour.
Starting with the sky, I add thick paint with a palette knife.
Starting with the sky, I add thick paint with a palette knife.
This is how the painting looks before I play around with a bit more colour.
This is how the painting looks before I play around with a bit more colour.
I have added some wonderful turquoise and various greens.
I have added some wonderful turquoise and various greens.
Now, it is time for the wildflowers.
Now, it is time for the wildflowers.
Here is the finished painting.  I think I captured the movement of the grasses and flowers in a spring meadow.
Here is the finished painting. I think I captured the movement of the grasses and flowers in a spring meadow.
painting close-up
painting close-up
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

