Painting process: Colourful Landscape, 12 x 24 inches

I have had a 12 x 24 inch board in my studio for a while now.  I didn't have the urge to paint anything on it until yesterday.  I need to do some landscapes for the solo show at in October but I was still thinking about my approach to the subject.  I finally figured it out and this is my painting process.  Above shows the underpainting.
I have had a 12 x 24 inch board in my studio for a while now. I didn’t have the urge to paint anything on it until yesterday. I need to do some landscapes for the solo show in October but I was still thinking about my approach to the subject. I finally figured it out and this is my painting process. Above shows the underpainting.
underpainting close-up
underpainting close-up
The trees have an underpainting now.  I build upon this with a palette knife later.
The trees have an underpainting now. I build upon this with a palette knife later.
tree underpainting close-up
tree underpainting close-up
My palette knives for this painting session.  For my colour palette visit my Q & A section on this blog.
My palette knives for this painting session. For my colour palette visit my Q & A section on this blog.
When painting landscapes I always start with the sky.
When painting landscapes I always start with the sky.
Sky detail
Sky detail
With the sky done I start to work my way down.  pale and cooler in the distance and more warm and vibrant as I move down.
With the sky done I start to work my way down. pale and cooler in the distance and more warm and vibrant as I move down.
painting detail
painting detail
close-up
close-up
The painting is almost finished.  I need to add pops of colour to make it more interesting for the eye.
The painting is almost finished. I need to add pops of colour to make it more interesting for the eye.
detail
detail
texture detail
texture detail
Here is the finished painting.  I love it!  In person the painting just sings.  I will do a couple of small ones to experiment with other colour palettes before I go larger.
Here is the finished painting. I love it! In person the painting just sings. I will do a couple of small ones to experiment with other colour palettes before I go larger.
finished painting detail
finished painting detail
more detail
more detail
Leave a Reply

