Painting process: painting vases and hyacinths

 

I had a late start today.  I just felt like taking it easy.  After passing the painting a couple times I decided to paint a little more.  I began with the blue and white vase.  Above is a close-up.
I had a late start today. I just felt like taking it easy, but after passing the painting a couple times I decided to paint a little more. I began with the blue and white vase. Above is a close-up.
vase detail
vase detail
This little jug is one of my faves.  I really enjoy painting it.  The shape is so fun.  I have used a palette knife to render the jug before putting the pattern on.
This little jug is one of my faves. I really enjoy painting it. The shape is so fun. I used a palette knife to render the jug before putting the pattern on.
jug detail
jug detail
Here is it finished along side the blue and white vase.
Here is the finished jug alongside the blue and white vase.
jug detail
jug detail
The hyacinths have fared better than the camellias but not by much.  I had to use my reference photo and some imagination.  above is my start on the white hyacinths.
The hyacinths held up better than the camellias but not by much.  I had to use my reference photo and some imagination. Above is my start on the white hyacinths.
I used a brush for the hyacinths.  I think they are a great contrast to the camellias.
I used a brush for the hyacinths. I think they are a great contrast to the camellias.
white hyacinth detail
white hyacinth detail
beginning of purple hyacinths
beginning of purple hyacinths
Here is what I have accomplished today.  I am almost finished!
Here is what I have accomplished today. I am almost finished!
Leave a Reply

