In my studio: Beginning stages of a 40 x 40 inch still life

The underpainting took a while.  My right arm actually started to ache.  I thought I would get to the camellias but at this point I don't think I will.
The underpainting took a while. My right arm actually started to ache. I thought I would get to the camellias but at this point I don’t think I will.
The background has been painted in with a brush.
The background has been painted in with a brush.
background close-up
background close-up
The leaves of the larger bouquet are painted in using a small palette knife. I decided to stop here even though I haven't done the camellias yet.  I need to save my energy for the big paint session tomorrow.
The leaves of the larger bouquet are painted in using a small palette knife. I decided to stop here.  I need to save my energy for the big paint session tomorrow.
A close-up of the leaves.
A close-up of the leaves.
4 Comments

  1. I love the pops of color. Thank you for the close ups. I’m working on one now and it really helps me try and break down your amazing techniques. Keep up with the “Show & Tell”. (PS: Please take your weather back. We are freezing here in Florida!) ❄️😊🎨

    1. Glad you like what I have done so far! Sorry to hear you are freezing in Florida 😦 Hopefully it won’t last long. Happy painting!

      -H

Leave a Reply

