Work in progress: Indigo and magenta moods, 30 x 30 inches

I know, stripes again...I'm just into them right now.  I have had many ideas about using a blue and white palette for some time.  I now have the right fabrics to do various paintings in this colour scheme.  With store bought flowers I created a wonderful bouquet to accompany the theme.  Above it my set-up and sketch.
I know, stripes again…I’m just into them right now. I’ve had many ideas about using a blue and white colour palette for some time. I finally found the right fabrics to do various paintings in this colour scheme. With store bought flowers I created a wonderful bouquet to accompany the theme. Above is my set-up and sketch.
A better view of my sketch.
A better view of my sketch.
I block in the stems and leaves.
I have blocked in the stems and leaves.
The stock flowers are next.  I am working my way from the larger bits of the bouquet to the smaller flowers.
The stock flowers are next. I am working my way from the larger bits of the bouquet to the smaller flowers.
underpainting detail
underpainting detail
The underpainting is complete. I had a late start on this one so, I stopped here.  It is 1am here and I'm headed to bed now.  Goodnight!
The underpainting is complete. I had a late start on this one so I stopped here. It is 1am ¬†and I’m headed to bed now. Goodnight!
Leave a Reply

