What’s drying in my studio: Tulips with Stripes, 24 x 24 inches

Brace yourself, I have documented the whole painting session today.  This post is a long one.  So, here we go...   Above is my set-up and sketch.
Brace yourself, I have documented the whole painting session today. This post is a long one. So, here we go…
Above is my set-up and sketch.
Here is a better photo of my sketch.
Here is a better photo of my sketch.
It was hard to capture the red background after adding more paint with a knife.  There are various reds in there that just aren't reading with my camera.  Well, the background is done and I have blocked some other bits.
It was hard to capture the red background after adding more paint with a knife. There are various reds in there that just aren’t reading with my camera. Well, the background is done and I have blocked some other bits.
background detail
background detail
With a palette knife I add the greens for my stems and leaves.
With a palette knife I add the greens for my stems and leaves.
greens detail
greens detail
stem detail
stem detail
I am starting the flowers, laying in the darker petals first.
I am starting the flowers, laying in the darker petals first.
flower detail
flower detail
With the chrysanthemum daisies done I can start on the tulips.
With the chrysanthemum daisies done I can start on the tulips.
I have begun painting in the tulips.  I start by painting the whole tulip with a base colour.
I start by painting the whole tulip with a base colour.
tulip detail
tulip detail
After adding various peach and pink colours, I add a darker colour to the tips of the petals.
After adding various peach and pink colours, I add a darker colour to the tips of the petals.
tulip close-up
tulip close-up
I have added more detail and other colours to the tulips to help bring them to life.
I have added more detail and other colours to the tulips to help bring them to life.
With the flowers completed, it is time to paint in the vase and the basic stripe pattern.  I will paint the lemon next and then go over my basic stripes with more stripes that are added with the help of thin brush.
With the flowers completed, it is time to paint in the vase and the basic stripe pattern. I will paint the lemon next and then go over my basic stripes with more stripes that are added with the help of a thin brush.
Here is the finished painting next to the set-up.  I will do a series of these.  I am gearing up for a solo show in October. I hope you all enjoyed this post.  Enjoy your weekend!
Here is the finished painting next to the set-up. I will do a series of these. I am gearing up for a solo show in October. I hope you all enjoyed this post. Have a great weekend!
painting detail
painting detail
vase and stripes detail
vase and stripes detail
tulip zoom-in
tulip zoom-in
2 Comments

  1. As always Halima – a very comprehensive description of each stage of your painting.What a great result ! I love the details as you can really see the textures and strokes of your palette knife or brush. I am still palette knife painting but not restricting myself to this. My challenge at the moment is putting people into the picture – but the lure of doing still life is beckoning me once again. Your Blog DOES inspire me to have another go. Love seeing what you are painting! Best wishes. Mary

    1. Hello Mary! I am glad you enjoyed the post. I often get the urge to do something totally different but I always come back to painting still lifes. I can’t help it. Good luck with your new painting endeavour!

      -H

Leave a Reply

