What’s drying in my studio: Parrot Tulip Bouquet, 40 x 40 inches

DSC_0002
In the last post I stopped after finishing the bouquet. Above you can see I am almost done with the ceramic jar.
DSC_0003
Here is a close up. You can see I am using both a palette knife and a brush.
DSC_0006
I added the reflection of the blue cloth onto the jar. It looks very glossy now.
DSC_0008
Jar detail
DSC_0009
The tea canister is next. Before I add any pattern I paint it as though it is a plain white canister.
DSC_0010
Now for the fun part! With a thin brush I add the pattern.
DSC_0011
Close up of tea canister
DSC_0012
Things are looking good. Now for the fruit.
DSC_0001
Starting on the lemons.
DSC_0002-2
lemon detail
DSC_0007
I know I skipped ahead but I was in the zone and I didn’t pause to take pictures. It is very close to being finished now.
DSC_0009-2
Close up of the striped cloth
DSC_0015
It’s done! Sorry about the glare, I wanted to show the true colours of the painting. Now I will put my feet up and watch some telly.

 

Leave a Reply

