Hard at work; painting parrot tulips, ivy and stock flowers

What a lovely blue colour!  The yellow and oranges will be a wonderful contrast.
What a lovely blue colour! The yellows and oranges will be a wonderful contrast.

 

The ivy and narcissus are finished at this point.  Now comes the task of rendering these parrot tulips.  I begin with a base colour for the outside of the petals.
The ivy and narcissus are finished at this point. Now comes the task of rendering these parrot tulips. I begin with a base colour for the outside of the petals.
Tulip detail
Tulip detail

sketch and flower detail

More progress has been made.  I have added dark orange lines to separate petals and add texture.  I also lined the tops of the petals in yellow to form the feather-like tips.
More progress has been made. I have added dark orange lines to separate petals and add texture. I also lined the tops of the petals in yellow to form the feather-like tips.
detail parrot tulips
detail parrot tulips
The bouquet is almost finished, it just needs a few small details.  So this is where I stopped last night.  It was quite exhausting.  When I looked at it this morning I was very pleased with it.  The colours are amazing in person.  I will continue today and hopefully finish it.
The bouquet is almost finished, it just needs a few small details. So, this is where I stopped last night. It was quite exhausting.  When I looked at it this morning I was very pleased with it.  The colours are amazing in person.  I will continue today and hopefully finish it.
2 thoughts on “Hard at work; painting parrot tulips, ivy and stock flowers

Leave a Reply

