In my studio: Sketching in a large floral still life, 40 x 40 inches

It was a very cold day today, it even snowed a bit.   You wouldn't know it in my studio though.  This yellow and orange bouquet has brought an early Spring.  Above is my sketch, I really concentrated on the bouquet.  I wanted to get the open parrot tulips just right, they will be the focal point.  The cloth is a cream gingham but I like the look of the stripes.  The stripes were painted in a dark brown because if I used the blue/green it would give the cream colour a greenish tint.
It was a very cold day today, it even snowed a bit. You wouldn’t know it inside my studio though. This yellow and orange bouquet has brought an early Spring. Above is my sketch, I really concentrated on the bouquet. I wanted to get the open parrot tulips just right, they will be the focal point. The cloth is a cream gingham but I like the look of the stripes. The stripes were under painted in a dark brown because if I used the dark blue/green it would give the cream colour a greenish tint.
Close up of large sketch.
Close up of large sketch.
Leave a Reply

