Painting Process: Snape Marshes, 16 x 16 inches

Visiting the Snape Marshes is one of favourite things to do in Suffolk.  I just find it very calming and beautiful.   Here is my quick sketch.
Visiting the Snape Marshes is one of my favourite things to do in Suffolk. I just find it very calming and beautiful.
Here is my quick sketch.
Working my way down, I use a palette knife to paint in the sky.
Working my way from top to bottom, I use a palette knife to paint in the sky.
Next come the distant reeds and the hint of a river.
Next comes the distant reeds and a river.
I pait in more of the river with the dark reflections of the tide mark.  With a brush I give a quick wash of colour to cover the rest of the board.
I paint in more of the river with the dark reflections of the tide mark. With a brush I give a quick wash of colour to cover the rest of the board.
After laying in the darker reed colours I go over it with medium tones.  I also drag and scrape my knife through the paint to hint at tall reeds and add movement.
After laying in the darker reed colours I go over it with medium tones. I also drag and scrape my knife through the paint to hint at tall reeds and add movement.
painting detail
painting detail
Here is the finished painting.  It was actually painted the same day as the previous yellow landscape.  I was having a serious painting session this past weekend.
Here is the finished painting. It was actually painted the same day as the previous yellow landscape. I was having a serious painting session this past weekend.
Leave a Reply

