Painting process: Yellow Landscape, 16 x 16 inches

Close to the border between essex and Suffolk I see wonderful fields of rapeseed (canola) in flower.  I have many reference photos of this because even though I've seen these fields numerous times, I love the shock of the colour  .  I try to capture the intensity of that yellow the best I can.  Above is my quick sketch to start off the painting.
Close to the border, between Essex and Suffolk, I see wonderful fields of rapeseed (canola) in flower.  I have many reference photos.  Even though I’ve seen these fields numerous times, I still love the shock of the colour.  I try to capture the intensity of that yellow the best I can.  Above is my quick sketch to start off the painting.
I go right in with a palette knife and paint in a moody sky and distant fields.  I wanted to convey that it has just rained or is still raining in the distance.  The hello fields tend to take on a particular yellow when the sky in the distance is a bit dark.
I go right in with a palette knife and paint in a moody sky and distant fields. I wanted to convey that it has just rained or is still raining in the distance. The yellow fields tend to take on a particular yellow when the sky in the distance is a bit dark.
close up
close up
The contrast is just beautiful and so vibrant!  I gave a wash of yellow to the rest of the painting just to cover the white of the board and serve as a base for all the yellow I will be using.
The contrast is just beautiful and so vibrant! I used a wash of yellow to cover the white of the board and serve as a base for all the yellow I will be using.
With a palette knife I ad big marks of green and turquoise which will help me create depth with in the flowers.
With a palette knife I add big marks of green and turquoise which will help me create depth in the yellow field.
With a warm and slightly yellow orange colour I layer it over some of the greens and dot in some petals.
With a warm and slightly yellow/orange colour I add layers over the greens and dot in some petals.
flower field detail
flower field detail
I use various mixtures of warm and cool yellows to add movement and light.  I also drag my knife through the paint, picking up the greens underneath to bring out some stems.
I use various mixtures of warm and cool yellows to add movement and light. I also drag my knife through the paint, picking up the greens underneath to bring out some stems.
field detail
field detail
Here is the finished painting.  I will take a better photo of this later in the week.
Here is the finished painting. I will take a better photo of this later in the week.
2 thoughts on “Painting process: Yellow Landscape, 16 x 16 inches

    1. Thank you Mary Ann! Keep working at it, you’ll get there. If you have any questions feel free to email me 🙂

      -H

Leave a Reply

