Palette knives: Which are my favourite? Let’s see…

I added new knives to my supplies today.  As they were all laid out, I thought I would share with you.  Though I really only use two of them, I do keep others as back up.  You can see the three knives to the right are my go-to knives.  I use a no.20 and no.29 of the winsor newton brand (or something similar in another brand) and a no.3 or no. 5 in the RGM brand.  I always choose knives with a very rounded tip, never pointy.  It is just a personal preference.  I like my marks to be smooth and buttery like icing on a cake.  The pointy tipped ones look jagged and add extra textures that once again, I personally don't like.  I use my smallest knife for small details and to make pointed edges when needed.
I added new knives to my supplies today. As they were all laid out, I thought I would share with you. Though I really only use two of them, I do keep others as back-up. The three knives to the right are my go-to knives. I use a No.20 and No.29 of the Winsor Newton brand (or something similar in another brand) and a No.3 or No.5 in the RGM brand. I always choose knives with a very rounded tip, never pointy. It is just a personal preference.  I like my marks to be smooth and buttery like icing on a cake.  I use my smallest knife for the details and to make pointed edges when needed.
The trusty two.  I have several back ups for each one.  When vigorously mixing paint they tend to snap or split.  These have lasted me almost a year, but only because I am a more careful now.
The trusty two. I have several back-ups for each one. When vigorously mixing paint they tend to snap or split. These have lasted me almost a year, but only because I am more careful now.
One Comment

  1. Thanks for letting us know. I always wondered what you “leaned on” most , in your work. As an amature and teaching myself (Note: When one teaches self, you usually have an idiot for councel. No exception here), I’m often at a loss for how best to get from where I am, to where I want to go next. This helps. Keep passing on the tips.
    Lynn 🎨😊

Leave a Reply

