Something new: Portrait Study-12 x 12 inches, oil on board

In school I painted sooooo many portraits and nudes figures that I thought I would never like to paint them again.  I don't do portraits often and I have become a little rusty.  Or maybe, I am not as confident painting faces as I am fruit and flowers.  Every now and then I get the urge to paint a portrait and half way through I regret it.  I almost quit 3 times painting this, but my husband (who is sitting for me) with out loosing his pose told me to keep going and trust myself.  So, I did and this is the result.  The only brush used was to sketch it in, everything else was done in palette knife only.
In school I painted sooooo many portraits and nude figures.  I thought I would never like to paint them again. Because of this, I don’t do portraits often and I have become a little rusty. Or perhaps, I am not as confident painting faces as I am fruit and flowers. Every now and then I get the urge to paint a portrait and half way through I regret it. I almost quit 3 times painting this.  My husband (who was sitting for me) without losing his pose told me to keep going and trust myself. So, I did and this is the result. I only used a brush to sketch it in, everything else was done in palette knife only.  Sorry I didn’t document this step by step.  I really thought I would be scraping all the paint off and repainting it with a landscape of some sort.
This photo makes me giggle.  I think I captured an uncanny likeness.
This photo makes me giggle. I think I captured an uncanny likeness.  I am glad I stuck with it.  The painting session lasted 3.5 hrs.
portrait detail
portrait detail
ear detail
ear detail
mouth detail
mouth detail
4 Comments

  1. I’m glad you didn’t quit. It’s really cool to see your techniques applied to other subject matter & how it works. Very nice….as always. Besides, if you want to do a portrait and get that urge to go back to fruit….my wife says let me be your subject…….I’m fruity enough. Thanks….I think. 🎨😊

Leave a Reply

