What’s drying in my studio: Magenta and turquoise still life, 35 x 35 inches

Before painting i the bouquet I quickly added the pattern to the tablecloth with a brush.
Before painting in the bouquet, I quickly added the pattern to the tablecloth with a brush.
Bouquet progress.
Bouquet progress.
Working on the amaryllis.
Working on the amaryllis.
Amaryllis detail
Amaryllis detail
Heard a little jingle of a bell and look what I found under my still life set up...one of my cats, Tiggy!
Heard a little jingle of a bell and look what I found under my still life set up… one of my cats, Tiggy!
The bouquet and vase are complete.
The bouquet and vase are complete.
Vase detail.
Vase detail.
shadow detail
shadow detail
apple detail
apple detail
After finishing the fabric using a brush and then smoothing out with a palette knife, the painting is complete!  I am absolutely enjoying changing things up.  Things just feel fresh and new.  My head is filled with all sorts of new ideas.  This weekend I will search for new fabric and bits and pieces to use in future paintings.  I have some smaller boards ready to be painted so, my next painting will be a small portrait.  I am thinking of entering the BP National Portrait Award, the deadline for entry is coming up soon so I need to get painting.  My husband will be my sitter again.  this time I will use more colour and incorporate more palette knife.  I will share pics this weekend.
After finishing the fabric using a brush and then smoothing out with a palette knife, the painting is complete! I am absolutely enjoying changing things up. Things just feel fresh and new. My head is filled with all sorts of new ideas. This weekend, I will search for new fabric and bits and pieces to use in future paintings. I have some smaller boards ready to be painted, so my next painting will be a small portrait. I am thinking of entering the BP National Portrait Award 2015, the deadline for entry is coming up soon, so I need to get painting. My husband will be my sitter again. This time, I will use more colour and incorporate more palette knife. I will share pics this weekend.
Orchid detail
Orchid detail
close up
close up
cloth close up
cloth close up
Leave a Reply

