What’s drying in my studio: First painting of 2015 done!

In the last post I was painting in the eucalyptus leaves.  Above you can see that I have completed most of the bouquet and started to add colour to the vase.
In the last post I was painting in the eucalyptus leaves. Above you can see that I have completed most of the bouquet and started to add colour to the vase.
The bouquet is finished.  I used my small palette knife for most of it and a little brushwork for the stems and berries.  Now, the vase.
The bouquet is finished. I used my small palette knife for most of it and a little brushwork for the stems and berries. Now, the vase.
Vase detail before the highlights.
Vase detail before the highlights.
Finished vase detail
Finished vase detail
close up of vase
close up of vase
I actually finished this 35 x 35 inch painting in one sitting.  I believe it took 10hrs including breaks.  Usually I would be fiddling with the details of various fruit and plates for over three days.  I felt so free and happy doing things a bit differently.  Don't get me wrong, I love the result of fiddling with all the detail in previous works.  I just love pushing around the paint more.  I have been looking for a way to get the freedom I feel when I am painting a landscape in my still life work without deviating too much from my current style.  I think I am well on my way with this one!
Here is the finished piece.  I actually finished this 35 x 35 inch painting in one sitting. I believe it took 10hrs including breaks. Usually I would be fiddling with the details of various fruit and plates for over three days. I felt so free and happy doing things a bit differently. Don’t get me wrong, I love the result of fiddling with all the detail in previous works. I just love pushing around the paint more. I have been looking for a way to get the freedom I feel when painting a landscape in my still life work without deviating too much from my current style.  I think I am well on my way with this one!
Leave a Reply

