What’s drying in my studio: Rich reds and gold, 24 x 24 inches

Just in time for Christmas, a smaller painting with gold and rich reds.  Here is the start.
Just in time for Christmas, a smaller painting with gold and rich reds. After sketching, I begin to block in the colours.
Colour blocking done.
Colour blocking done.  It’s time to move onto the background.
Onto the background pattern of flowers and birds.
Working on the background pattern of flowers and birds.
The background is finished, now I can work on the lilies.
The background is finished, now I can work on those lovely lilies.
background detail
background detail
liliy detail
liliy detail
I am moving a bit quicker with this one.
I am moving a bit quicker with this one.
Nearly done.
Nearly done, just the fruit and eggs to go.
apple detail
detail of apple… in my opinion, one of the best apples I’ve ever painted! 
This painting is complete!  I think this will be my last painting until the new year.  I hope you all enjoy the holidays.  Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
This painting is complete! I think this will be my last painting until the new year. I hope you all enjoy the holidays. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
Leave a Reply

