What’s drying in my studio: Magenta Lilies with Black Cherries

To finish off the painting, I started with the doily then the bowl of cherries.
To finish off the painting, I started with the doily then the bowl of cherries.
detail, bowl of cherries
detail, bowl of cherries
The blue/periwinkle cloth was next.  I did that first instead of the remaining fruit and birds eggs.  When rendering those objects I will tie the surrounding colour in as reflecting highlights and it helps to reshape things if I mess up.
The blue/periwinkle cloth was next. I did that first instead of the remaining fruit and birds eggs. When rendering those objects I will use the surrounding colour as reflecting highlights and it also helps to reshape things if I mess up.
Here it is!  The colours are so bold in person and the gold paint sets it of nicely.  I will do a similar smaller painting because I am addicted to this gold paint!
Here it is, “Magenta Lilies with Black Cherries” 35 x 35 inches, oil on board!  The colours are so bold in person and the gold sets it off nicely. I will do a similar smaller painting because I am addicted to this gold paint! 
Leave a Reply

