In my studio: More progress, Autumn still life-30 x 36 inches

Monday I painting off an on for 12 hrs and I am half way done.  I will be resting most of today and trying not to look at the painting.  I need fresh eyes and a relaxed body to continue.  My first task on Monday was to sort out the bouquet, which took some time.  Then I started on the vase.  Now it's time for the pattern.
Monday I painted off and on for 12 hrs and I am half way done. I will be resting most of today and trying not to look at the painting. I need fresh eyes and a relaxed body to continue. My first task on Monday was to sort out the bouquet, which took some time. Then I started on the vase. Now it’s time for the pattern.
I used a small brush and drew the pattern right into the we paint.
I used a small brush and drew the pattern right into the wet paint.
Vase detail
Vase detail
I then added the other colours to complete the vase.
I then added the other colours to complete the vase.
vase detail, colours
vase detail, colours
Now for the fabric.  Same approach as the vase, paint in the under layer then draw the pattern on top.
Now for the fabric. Same approach as the vase, paint in the under layer then draw the pattern on top.
The pattern is mapped out.
The pattern is mapped out.
I then add more colours to the pattern.  I think the cream in the pattern needs to stand out more so I will fix that later today.
I then add more colours to the pattern. I think the cream in the pattern needs to stand out more so I will fix that later today.
fabric deail
fabric detail
Leave a Reply

