Floral study with halved fig, 10x 10 inches

After a long break I am so happy to be painting in my new studio.  This is my first painting in the new place.  I wanted to paint something small so I could get used to painting in the new environment.  So here is a quick sketch.
After a long break I am so happy to be painting in my new studio. This is my first painting in the new place. I wanted to paint something small so I could get used to painting in the new environment. So here is a quick sketch.
I decided to go right ahead and add the thick paint instead of blocking in colour.  I was a little impatient.  I started with the darks.
I decided to go right ahead and add the thick paint instead of blocking in colour. I was a little impatient. I started with the darks.
I am leaving the flowers for last so I completed the foreground and the glass.
I am leaving the flowers for last so I completed the foreground and the glass.
Starting on the darker flowers.
Starting on the darker flowers.
Now for the lily.
Now for the lily.
Done!  It took me just under 2 hours to complete.  I am glad I didn't start with a big one, I felt a bit rusty.
Done! It took me just under 2 hours to complete, because I was taking my time. I am glad I didn’t start with a big one, I felt a bit rusty.
I can't wait to paint more!
I can’t wait to paint more!
Leave a Reply

