Painting process: Silver Braekel Bantam Rooster, 16 x 16 inches on cradled panel

I am really getting into painting roosters.  The special breeds particularly peak my interest.  I happened to see a Silver Campine Rooster  at an animal sanctuary in Mistley, Essex.  The striking barred feathers and overlaying white feathers looked like it would be fun to paint and maybe a bit of a challenge.  So, above is the underpainting, next step will be painting the background using the palette knife.
I am really getting into painting roosters. The special breeds particularly peak my interest. I happened to see a Silver Braekel Bantam Rooster at an animal sanctuary in Mistley, Essex. The striking barred feathers and overlaying white feathers looked like it would be fun to paint and maybe a bit of a challenge. So, above is the underpainting, next step will be painting the background using the palette knife.

 

The background is a mix of Burnt Umber, French Ultramarine and Titanium White.  I used more brown than blue so my grey came out a bit warmer.  I want to cool black that I will be using right out of the tube to stand out against any other darks.  For the staw I used the side of the palette knife to draw across the paint in different directions, mimicking  scattered straw.
The background is a mix of Burnt Umber, French Ultramarine and Titanium White. I used more brown than blue so my grey came out a bit warmer. I want the cool black that I will be using (right out of the tube) to stand out against any other darks. For the straw I used the side of the palette knife to draw across the paint in different directions, mimicking scattered straw.
detail of the underpainting
detail of the underpainting
detail of the underpainting
detail of the underpainting
detail of underpainting
detail of underpainting and straw
With a greyish brown I have layer some feathers in.  Switching to a cream colour I add short marks for the bars on the feathers.
With a greyish brown I have added some feathers. Switching to a cream colour, I add short marks for the bars on the feathers.
detail of feathers
detail of feathers
After adding the long white feathers in with a brush, I add black and white right out the tubes to enhance the feathers.
After adding the long white feathers in with a brush, I add black and white (right out the tubes) to enhance the feathers.
detail of painted feathers
detail of painted feathers
detail of the face
detail of the face
Here he is finished and looking very dapper.  I might attempt this one again but larger.
Here he is finished and looking very dapper. I might attempt this one again, but larger.
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

