Painting process: Lilies on a fancy patterned cloth- 30 x 30 inches

My set up.  A bit darker than what I usually go for but I'm trying something different.
My set up. A bit darker than what I usually go for but I’m trying something different.
Sketching and underpainting done.
Sketching and underpainting done.
The cloth has the pattern painted in very loosely.  I will add more paint and details later on.
The cloth has the pattern painted in very loosely. I will add more paint and details later on.
 The background, leaves and stems are done so now I begin painting on the lilies using a palette knife.
The background, leaves and stems are done. I begin painting the lilies using a palette knife.
Working from the darkest parts of the flowers towards the lightest parts.  Now it's ready for some details.
Working from the darkest parts of the flowers towards the lightest parts. Now it’s ready for some details.
The lilies are complete.  I saved some paint from the background and the cloth, with this I finished the vase.  This is where I stopped last night.  I could have kept going but I didn't want to get sloppy as I began to get tired.   I will continue in a few hours.
The lilies are complete. I saved some paint from the background and the cloth, with this I finished the vase. This is where I stopped last night. I could have kept going but I didn’t want to get sloppy as I began to get tired. I will continue in a few hours.
(vase detail)
(vase detail)
Leave a Reply

