“Sitting in the Poppies” 10 x 20 inches, painting process

I remembered I was supposed to be photographing this a couple of steps in.  So, as you can see, I've already finished the sky and distant trees.  Next was starting with the cooler and darker tones in the foreground working my way up to the lighter and warmer tones in the center.
I remembered I was supposed to be photographing this a couple of steps in. So, as you can see, I’ve already finished the sky and distant trees. Next was starting with the cooler and darker tones in the foreground, working my way up to the lighter and warmer tones in the center.
Here is the field finished before I add the flowers.
Here is the field finished before I add the flowers.
(field detail)
(field detail)
With the side edge of my palette knife I swipe in a bright orange for the distant poppies.
With the side edge of my palette knife I swipe in bright orange for the distant poppies.
Poppies have been added.  I used a lot of paint on the tip of my palette knife to apply the red paint.
Poppies have been added. I used a lot of paint on the tip of my palette knife to apply the red paint.
(Poppy detail)
(Poppy detail)
Here is the finished product.
Here is the finished product.
My two recent landscape paintings.  Both are available.
My two recent landscape paintings. Both are available.
2 thoughts on ““Sitting in the Poppies” 10 x 20 inches, painting process

  1. Have only recently signed up to My Life in Paint but already learning a lot from you especially your videos. I have been palette knife painting for over a year now so value your tips on how you use your knife. I love how you apply the paint and I really like your landscapes – keep them coming!!

Leave a Reply

