Landscape painting process: 16 x 16 inches, oil on board

Just a quick sketch.
Just a quick sketch.
I started right away with the palette knife without blocking in color because I have painted similar scenes before.
I started right away with the palette knife without blocking in color because I have painted similar scenes before.
I am working my way down to the focus of this painting, which are the wildflowers.
I am working my way down to the focal point of this painting, which are the wildflowers.
(detail)
(detail)
As I get lower I am making sure the mixes of paint are more vibrant and have more texture.
As I get lower I am making sure the mixes of paint are more vibrant and have more texture.
Almost done with the foreground.
Almost done with the foreground.
I start adding the distant poppies.  As I get closer to the bottom they will become more red.  I will also scatter a few other flowers around to add more colour.
I start adding the distant poppies. As I get closer to the bottom they will become more red. I will also scatter a few other flowers around to add more colour.
Here it is finished!  The texture on this is lovely.  I just wanted to paint something fun and not have to focus on any details.
Here it is finished! The texture on this is lovely. I just wanted to paint something fun and not have to focus on any details.
(wildflowers detail)
(wildflowers detail)
(texture detail)
(texture detail)
Leave a Reply

