What’s drying in my studio: A plate of figs, 30 x 30 inches

I am trying something new with my still life paintings and I am just seeing where this takes me.  I have no idea where I would go from here but it will come to me soon.  I've been wanting to paint purple and blues and I saw some wonderful figs at the grocery store and this is what I came up with.  Above is the painting drawn and blocked in.
I am trying something new with my still life paintings and I am just seeing where this takes me. I have no idea where I will go from here but it will come to me soon. I’ve been wanting to use purples and blues and I saw some wonderful figs at the grocery store, this is what I came up with. 
I started painting the whole figs first, trying to make the somewhat dull exterior very vibrant.  I then proceeded  to paint the halved and quartered pieces.
I started painting the whole figs first, trying to make the somewhat dull exterior very vibrant. I then proceeded to paint the halved and quartered pieces.
(close up of figs)
(close up of figs)
The shadows came next then the white of the plate, leaving the dragon detail last.
The shadows came next, then the white of the plate, leaving the dragon detail last.
(close up of figs and dragon detail)
(close up of figs and dragon detail)
After adding some finishing touches like the rice pattern and filling in the background, it is complete.  The picture is a bit dark but I will take a better one and post it on my official website this weekend.
After adding some finishing touches like the rice pattern and laying in the background, it is complete. The picture is a bit dark but I will take a better one and post it on my official website this weekend.
Leave a Reply

