Painting process: “Spilled Pomegranates” 30 x 30 inches on board

If you can't tell already, I really enjoy painting pomegranates.  I have set a challenge for myself to do a large study of spilled pomegranates.  I will use the above set up to create a painting overflowing with pomegranates.  It will be an arial view point and I have to create the composition from my imagination.  I have been thinking of doing this for quite a while and I am finally ready to give it a try.
If you can’t tell already, I really enjoy painting pomegranates. I have set a challenge for myself to do a large study of them. I will use the above set up to create a painting overflowing with pomegranates. It will be an aerial view and I have to create the composition from my imagination. I have been thinking of doing this for quite a while and I am finally ready to give it a try.
So far so good, I think.  I am just moving the fruit around on my little table so I can draw accurately and get an idea of where the shadows are.
So far so good, I think. I am just moving the fruit around on my little table so I can draw accurately and get an idea of where the shadows are.
I finished the drawing now, I still have a couple of shadows to paint in but I think the composition works.  I did take my time so this took an hour and a half.
I finished the drawing now, I still have a couple of shadows to paint in but I think the composition works. I did take my time so drawing took an hour and a half.  This might take a while to finish but I will post as I paint along.
Leave a Reply

