Painting process: Stargazers with Tangerines, 36 x 36 inches on canvas

My wonderful and colorful set up.  It makes me happy just looking at it!  I can't wait to get started!
My wonderful and colorful set up. It makes me happy just looking at it! I can’t wait to get started!
My sketch .
My sketch .
Blocking in color.  I did the blues and blue-greens first because I want the reds, oranges and pinks to really pop.
Blocking in color. I did the blues and blue-greens first because I want the reds, oranges and pinks to really pop.
Fruit blocked in. Now it's time for the flowers.
Fruit blocked in. Now it’s time to add the thick paint. Starting with the background then the vase.
I painted in the vase and stems, then moved to the leaves, closed flower pods and budding flowers.
I painted in the background, vase and stems, then moved to the leaves, closed flower pods and blooming flowers.
detail of a blooming lily
detail of a blooming lily
After lining the open flowers with white I lay in the overall pink base color.
After lining the open flowers with white and a hint of yellow, I lay in the overall pink base color.
detail of open lily with pink base.
detail of open lily with pink base.
Then the darker magenta and reds are applied over the pink base.
Then the darker magenta and reds are applied over the pink base.
Lilies are done.
Dots and other details are added.  Lilies are done.
detail of finished lily
detail of finished lily
With the fabric done I begin shaping the fruit.
The fabric has been finished by adding the pattern last.  Using a small brush loaded with paint to draw out the patterns in the previously painted turquoise. The foreground and shadows of the fruit have been painted in as well.
detail of fabric, glass and the start to the pomegranates.
detail of fabric, glass and the start to the pomegranates.
detail of finished pomegranates and a simple blocking in of color for the tangerines.
detail of finished pomegranates.
Completed.  Very vibrant and full of life.
Completed. Very vibrant and full of life.  
detail of fruit and fabric.
detail of fruit and fabric.
Leave a Reply

