West Mersea: 10 x 20 inches, cradled panel

I have been waiting to paint this for about a year.  When in first moved to Essex from the States, West Mersea was one of the first places my husband took me to.  We watched the sunset and it was amazing.  I am doing two of these but here is the first painting.  After getting the cooler darker colours down, I started on the warm pinks in the sky.
I have been waiting to paint this for about a year. When I first moved to Essex from the States, West Mersea was one of the first places my husband took me to. We watched the sunset and it was amazing. I am doing two of these but here is the first painting. After getting the cooler darker colours down, I started on the warm pinks in the sky.
With the sky done and reflected in the wet sand below, I need to reinforce my darks and add the boats.
With the sky done and reflected in the wet sand below, I need to reinforce my darks and add the boats.
This took me about 4 hrs, maybe less.  I love the mood.
This took me about 4 hrs, maybe less. I love the mood.
Just another view of the painting from a different angle.  You can see a glimpse of the last painting I did.  My dining table is where I dry my paintings sometimes.
Just another view of the painting from a different angle. You can see a glimpse of the last painting I did. My dining table is where I dry my paintings sometimes and set up my still lifes.
Leave a Reply

