Finished: Bluebell Woods 36 x 36 inches on canvas

Painting process continued from previous post: I start in with the palette knife on the trees and distant fields.  Trying hard not to over paint this section.
Painting process continued from previous post:
I start in with the palette knife on the trees and distant fields. Trying hard not to over paint this section.
(detail)
(detail)
I am working my way down.  Pulling my palette knife across the canvas to give the appearance of distant flowers.  whe I get to the middle of the canvas I apply my marks  in a vertical motion, bringing the field towards the viewer.
I am working my way down. Pulling my palette knife across the canvas to give the appearance of distant flowers. When I get to the middle of the canvas I apply my marks in a vertical motion, bringing the field towards the viewer.
(detail)
(detail)
If you love blues, violets and blue-greens this is a painting for you!  Here is the finished painting.  I do love the colors.  To make the  flowers more visible I went over the somewhat abstract parts with a brush and hinted at grass and bending stems.  Then I dotted some darker blue-violet and French Ultramarine (right out the tube mixed with liquin) around to bring out the flowers.  I think some parts are more successful than others but that's me being very critical.
If you love blues, violets and blue-greens this is a painting for you! Here is the finished painting. I do love the colors. To make the flowers more visible I went over the somewhat abstract parts with a brush and hinted at grass and bending stems. Then I dotted around some darker blue-violet and French Ultramarine (right out the tube mixed with liquin) to bring out the flowers. I think some parts are more successful than others but that’s me being very critical.
(detail)
(detail)
(detail)
(detail)
Leave a Reply

