Large landscape in progress: Bluebell Woods, 36 x 36 inches on canvas

 I am getting a bit tired of all the green I usually use in my large landscape paintings.   I want to paint a landscape with more color and impact.  I've been thinking about painting bluebell woods for a while and today I am going for it!  I have sketched out the composition.  I will be painting from memory and also using several of my own photos and some of Gustav Klimt's orchard and forest  paintings  as references.
I am getting a bit tired of all the green I usually use in my large landscape paintings. I want to paint a landscape with more color and impact. I’ve been thinking about painting bluebell woods for a while and today I am going for it! I have sketched out the composition. I will be painting from memory and also using several of my own photos and some of Gustav Klimt’s orchard and forest paintings as references.
I am using a brush to block in the color thinly and I am starting with the darker greens.
I am using a brush to thinly block in the color, starting with the darker greens.
Moving on to the lighter warmer greens in the trees.
Moving on to the lighter warmer greens in the trees.
Because there is warm sunlight peaking through the trees onto the cool blue of the bluebells, I have to warm up the blue and get cooler and bluer towards the bottom of the canvas
Because there is warm sunlight peaking through the trees onto the cool blue of the bluebells, I have to warm up the blue to a pale violet and get cooler and bluer towards the bottom of the canvas
I have now darkened the green parts even more and addd French Ultramarine right out of the tube (thinned with a bit of solvent) and sprinkled some deep blue on the bottom half.  I also added dots of yellow-green and pinky orange color to break up the blues and violets.  The next stage is to add texture, depth and impact with the palette knife.  But after lunch!  I will blog about the next steps tonight.
I have now darkened the green parts even more and added French Ultramarine right out of the tube (thinned with a bit of solvent) and sprinkled some deep blue on the bottom half. I also added dots of yellow-green and a pinky orange color to break up the blues and violets. The next stage is to add texture, depth and impact with the palette knife. But after lunch! I will blog about the next steps tonight or tomorrow.
(detail)
(detail)
(detail)
(detail)
(detail)
(detail)
One thought on “Large landscape in progress: Bluebell Woods, 36 x 36 inches on canvas

Leave a Reply

