“Sunset Glow” (Snape Maltings, Suffolk) 10 x 20 inches

Sunset at Snape Maltings in Suffolk is breathtaking.  When the sun hits the reeds it sets it on fire.  I wanted to capture that in this painting.  I have taken many pictures and witnessed this many times.  So, here is my first attempt.  I start by layering in the darker colors of the reeds and trees in the distance.  Keeping in mind color temperature.  There will be a warm light hitting trees and reeds in the distance so my under layers should be on the cool side.
Sunset at Snape Maltings in Suffolk is breathtaking. When the sun hits the reeds it sets it on fire. I wanted to capture that in a painting. I have taken many pictures and witnessed this many times. So, here is my first attempt. I start by layering in the darker colors of the reeds and trees in the distance. Keeping in mind color temperature. There will be a warm light hitting trees and reeds in the distance so my under layers should be on the cool side.
I move on to the sky, keeping in mind that it was a bright blue sky, a glow from the warm sun is hitting the cool clouds and the blue sky is starting to turn yellow.  All of this needs to be reflected in the water too.
I move on to the sky, keeping in mind that it was a bright blue sky, a glow from the warm sun is hitting the cool clouds and the blue sky is starting to turn yellow. All of this needs to be reflected in the water too.
The sky is completed with warm highlights of titanium white with a hint of cadmium yellow pale.
The sky is completed with warm highlights of titanium white with a hint of cadmium yellow pale.
I am adding the warm glow onto to distant trees and reeds.  It is starting to come to life.
I am adding the warm glow onto to distant trees and reeds. It is starting to come to life.
Then I add the golden line of reeds set a light by the setting sun.
Then I add the golden line of reeds set alight by the setting sun.
(detail)
(detail)
The paintings I have completed this week.   Two different subjects on the same size panel.  Same technique used on both but you get very different vibes from each of them.
The paintings I have completed this week. Two different subjects on the same size panel. Same technique used on both but you get very different vibes from each of them.
Leave a Reply

